Casshern Sins – Episode 01

So here’s something that I typed up about a week ago but forgot to post, oops. Expect more of these slowpoke posts to come, especially whenI get my hands on Tytania subs once they come out some time in the 23rd century.

I feel obliged to let you know that I’ve not actually seen anything of Tatsunoko’s Casshern franchise prior to this show. So if I come off sounding stupid… chances are that I am anyway.

In the very first episode of Casshern Sins, our tragic hero (voiced by none other than Tohru goddamn Furuya) is introduced as a cyborg assassin sent to take out a mysterious girl by the name of Luna. Oh my. Somehow, as a result of this, the world seems to have plunged into dark and gloomy times. It seems that humans can no longer fully survive on the earth, and are a rare sight among the now primarily robot-populated planet.

Once the opening credits finish rolling, Ribbo– er, Casshern finds himself fighting off hordes of angry mechanical nightmares in an effort to save his ass from certain robot death. This was probably my favourite part of the episode, as I’m in love with the art of this show, and the animation in the fight sequences is very fluid. I just hope that the animators will keep this up. The backgrounds were also very impressive, and really helped to illustrate just how desolate the world of Casshern Sins is.

After the battle, the random chick (sources tell me that her name is Lyuze) who’s been watching him comes up and tries to freak him out by wear BIG SCARY ROBOT ARMOUR, and of course Casshern buys it because he’s on the defensive. Or stupid. She notes the fragility of the robots’ “mental” state and disappears in a cloud of smoke. Casshern screams and turns into an Edvard Munch painting. The end.

Then we get a loli intermission, in which we are introduced to Ringo, the young robotic girl who could possibly be adorable in short, widely-spread bursts of screentime, but instead we have to suffer through nearly ten minutes of her collecting shells and hitting on Casshern and awwww she considers herself broken, how cute. Seriously, I wish her VA would stop making those retarded gurgling baby noises.

Ringo is attacked by a Big Scary Robot, so Casshern distracts it by drawing attention to himself instead, and promptly kills it in another awesome action scene. Ohji, who (somewhat understandably) seems to dislike the idea of Ringo hanging out with our favourite killing machine, comes to take her away from him.

The episode ends with another appearance by Lyuze, who waxes poetic and frankly states that Casshern is merely a KILLER who was designed to KILL and therefore cannot achieve any other purpose in life and should DIE. Casshern angsts over the state of his being, and the ending credits roll. I don’t really like the ED theme, and I do prefer the groovier sound of the OP… to be honest, neither of them really appeal to me. But hey, at least it’s not Ali Project.

Overall, a good episode. I freaking loved the action scenes, and while I feel that it’s too early to judge the show based on characters/story/plot elements, I guess the concept intrigues me and I’m interested to see where this series will go (although I can already hazard a guess at how it will end — if Ringo remains important, she just may become the new ~saviour of the earth~, and Casshern will redeem himself by protecting her as opposed to how he handled the whole Luna thing). I’d also like to know more about the world in which the series takes place, as it’s still largely a mystery.

Kill Casshern. Devour Casshern. Watch Casshern. It’s better than all the moemoe “slice of life” bullshit that’s airing right now.

~ by fecalresidue on October 14, 2008.

Leave a comment